recipe roundup

Despite the fact that I am the proud owner of many amazing cookbooks, I tend to head to the internet when I need a quick idea for a recipe. Here are some of my favorite online food resources, plus a few links to my favorite cookbooks.

Smitten Kitchen: this blogger covers pretty much all forms of food from breakfast to dinner and desserts. I love how she organizes her recipes by main ingredient, type of food and especially season – I find it really helpful when I get my CSA share each week! Oh and the images are always beautiful.

C’est la Vegan: I am not vegan, I suppose I’m technically a pescetarian, but I tend towards vegetarianism and love using fully vegan recipes. I love the appetizers on this site – this Mushroom Pâté is a fave of mine. The Vegan also is a baker and there are some amazing-looking desserts to be found here, however I’m more cook and less baker, so I have yet to try a lot of those lovely yet yummy-looking recipes.

Vegetarian Times: I also get the magazine, and it’s a great standby. They have some awesome features, one being One Food, 5 Ways where they feature a single ingredient and then offer up five different preparations. It helps me get creative! Unfortunately, their website kinda stinks – it takes a long time to load and isn’t very well organized. But don’t let it deter you – VT has some very good recipes (and resources).

And now for a quick roundup of my favorite cookbooks:

The original Moosewood Cookbook by Mollie Katzen. The one currently in publication is The New Moosewood Cookbook, which I believe is a revised version of the original with “leaner” recipes. But I have the original, which was my mom’s, and wouldn’t have it any other way! Highlights include the recipes for minestrone soup, calzones and carrot cake. YUM.

Love Soup by Anna Thomas. I LOVE SOUP. And this is by far my favorite soup book ever. Thomas treats the ingredients like the royal items they are in each and every recipe, so you can literally taste each herb, each vegetable and the broth all individually and at the same time. Brilliant. My absolute fave is Green Soup and all it’s variations. Incidentally, Thomas has a number of other awesome cookbooks in her Vegetarian Epicure series.

The Conscious Cook by Tal Ronnen. Think fancy vegan. I love it. All the recipes are very involved – as in they can take HOURS to make – but the end result is always so elegant and satisfying! I have probably made the Old Bay Tofu Cakes about 100 times. Also the Tomato Bisque, made with Cashew Cream (uhhh, amazing!), is awesome.

And this list would not be remotely complete without mentioning my absolute favorite source for smoothies (among many, many other things!): Natalia KW, a raw vegan chef with a lovely “cook” book called Pure Pleasures. Her website is beautiful too – I love the photos and it’s very well-organized. I will admit, I have not made a lot of the desserts, but they all look sumptuous. I do, however, keep going back for the drink and smoothie recipes – MMMMMM! My absolute favorite one is the Florida Citrus Green Smoothie. And the Spinach Manicotti is so satisfying you’d be surprised to know it’s not full of cheese! I love it with the sunflower seeds, and I’ve also made it with a thick version of Tal Ronnen’s Cashew Cream. They are both delish – it just depends on your taste preference.

Happy eating!

About abbyrose

Abby is a creative director/graphic designer living in NH who's greatest loves in life include photography, traveling, food, family & friends and laughing (usually while with family and friends over food while traveling and taking photos).
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to recipe roundup

  1. You eat very well. They all look fantastic. Thanks for sharing.

  2. kim g. says:

    Thanks so much for the mention – happy to hear you like the pate recipe!

  3. Pingback: food finale: kale chips |

Leave a Reply

