my life in music…sort of

You know how when you hear a particular song, it can instantly take you back in time? My memory project is a playlist of songs that for various reasons, I can’t live without. They come from all different eras of my life and all of them bring up deep memories of particular events, or of general times of my life, or both.

This is not necessarily a list of my favorite songs, or songs that I just love to listen to, or even songs by my favorite musicians. They are just little pieces of me, built into my life through memory. I could probably come up with about 50 playlists, but for this project I chose the songs that immediately jump into my head when I think back. Hope you like it!

The Circle Game | Joni Mitchell :: Some of my earliest memories include my dad singing this song to me. It’s always made me think of my childhood. Later, we danced to it at my wedding.

Where I Live | Bill Staines :: Another childhood song, this was one of the very first cassette tapes that I ever had. My parents brought it home from a Bill Staines concert, and even though I had no idea who he was or that I was becoming a folk fan, I loved it and played it incessantly.

There’s More to Life Than This | Björk :: Summer, being young and carefree, singing super loud at the top of my lungs – this was the perfect song for that when I was in those interesting early teenage years. I still crank it up and belt it out in the car.

The Rainbow Connection | Kermit the Frog :: Also a childhood favorite, this was also the song that marked a very bittersweet year of my life. It came back to me in college and now holds fun and happy memories of those years spent with great friends.

In My Life | The Beatles :: I spent HOURS on end listening to my parents’ vinyl collection growing up, and the Beatles (with Bob Dylan and Frank Zappa close seconds) were my idols. I loved the variety of music they created, even at an early age. This particular song always struck a chord with me, and I can’t help but take a trip through time when I hear it.

Rapture | Blondie :: I discovered the existence of Blondie at age 16 (ish) while riding around with my bestie at the time in the back of a car. The base was cranked and I couldn’t believe this awesomeness existed. I’ve never looked back.

Redemption Song | Bob Marley :: I went through a phase in my mid-teens where Bob Marley was in my walkman constantly. It came back into my life again in college with a hilarious episode involving Club Inertia (the ole’ college crew) and has never left.

Sparkle | Phish :: I began listening to Phish in high school and instantly loved the energy and message of this song – the simplest things in life are the best when experienced with friends.

Berkley Pier | Tilt :: Another college throwback here. Freshmen year and we were all obsessed. I remember driving around the streets of Florida blasting this and singing at the top of my lungs with three special ladies. Always makes me smile!

When She Believes | Ben Harper :: One of the sweetest, and at the time most surprising, things a boy ever told me was that it meant the world to him to know that I believed in him. Then he put this on a mix CD for me. Later, I married him.

Carries On | Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros :: A recent addition to my life music, this song is just so beautiful to me. I struggle sometimes with my direction in life – Did I make the right choices? Will I be a good mama? – but this settles me down and reminds me that all that truly matters is that I am surrounded by love, and therefore so blessed. And that makes everything else seem so much easier.

PS: I find it so awesome that last week Sara posted a playlist as well – I had already had this in the works, and it just goes to show how intensely music can affect us. Love it!

About abbyrose

Abby is a creative director/graphic designer living in NH who's greatest loves in life include photography, traveling, food, family & friends and laughing (usually while with family and friends over food while traveling and taking photos).
This entry was posted in memory and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to my life in music…sort of

  1. Sandra says:

    Automobile will always hold a special place in my heart. Christmas 2000. 😉

Leave a Reply

