Art21

“I don’t take photographs thinking that they are going to be art. I take the photographs thinking that I need to keep the moment, because I need to look at it afterwards.”
– Gabriel Orozco

“‘No Crying Allowed in the Barber Shop’…it’s about recreating my memory. When I was five years old my father took me to get my first haircut right around the neighborhood. And what was meant to be a celebration became disastrous event. I was crying a lot, I was scared…What traumatized me wasn’t so much the haircut itself but the way that this barber dealt with my kind of hair…That experience was a combination of race and a right of passage into becoming a little man.”
– Pepón Osorio

See more memory-driven and inspired artwork at the Art21 Season Three page here.

About abbyrose

Abby is a creative director/graphic designer living in NH who's greatest loves in life include photography, traveling, food, family & friends and laughing (usually while with family and friends over food while traveling and taking photos).
This entry was posted in memory and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

