green project for march

I had a little trouble picking a solid idea this month. I stumbled across so many different iterations of the word “green” and was inspired by so many different things myself that my brain was buzzing with ideas.

Originally, I wanted to create something very tangible and practical but I think there were so many possibilities that it was hard to choose just one and go with it. Then I came across this tutorial and thought I had found my solution. I was going to make a green alphabet! The idea was simple, kind of practical, and the results would be stunning (or so I thought). I followed the tutorial step-by-step and made a trip to my local hardware store to buy some grass seed. Then I stopped at Blick to pick up some sponges in the shape of letters. I went home that night and dampened the sponges, covered them with grass seed and put them in a sunny place. The only problem in this seemingly fail-proof scheme was that I needed to leave town and go to New York for 4 days. I tried to remain positive and reminded myself that as long as my little letters have enough sun and water, they should be fine. I’ll come home and find a batch of perfect, grassy, green typography.

Well, I probably don’t need to tell you that when I got back, I found a shriveled, dried-up pile of grass seed and sponge. I was going to take a picture for you all but I’ll save you the sad visual.

What I learned from this is that I don’t have a knack with plants and if you’re going to grown a green alphabet, you can’t leave town for New York and expect it to just grow itself.

In lieu of my simple and practical solution, I started thinking more abstractly and came across this wonderful quote by Goethe: “All theory, dear friend, is gray, but the golden tree of life springs ever green.” I was drawn to the quote because it expressed the often troublesome relationship between theory and action, which I think is a very interesting juxtaposition when talking about the green movement.

I still wanted to make this idea really simple and I wanted to use natural materials of some sort. I started photographing my rock collection (the majority of them collected from Lake Michigan) and creating patterns/color palettes with them. I really liked what was happening, so I paired it with the Goethe quote and voila, there was my solution.

I definitely don’t think this project is done and see it more of an experiment that needs to be explored further but time got away from me this time!

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About sara

Sara Bassick is a graphic designer living in Chicago. She likes printmaking, reading, typography, clocks, collaborating, being silly, dogs and pizza.
This entry was posted in green and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

