repeat and fade

I find that whenever I think of repetition in terms of art and/or design, it always gets me thinking about music and its visual representation. Music is all about patterns, sometimes repeating and sometimes irregular.

Recently I was asked to design an album cover for my friends’ (and boyfriend’s) band Outer Minds. It was such a fun project to work on (I’m still working on it but will post the final version when it’s ready). I really believe that there isn’t anything more fun for a designer than making an album cover (and this one even had a gatefold and everything!) The fact that I’m huge music fan sweetens the deal a bit too.

Since working on this, I started thinking a lot about what a successful album cover is and I started looking at a wide range of examples. For me, what kept catching my eye repeatedly were covers that were pretty simple but also very rhythmic and repetitive. I love things that are pared down but also very vibrant with color, and always really respond when a simple idea comes to life.

While looking around the internet for this type of work, I came across this amazing album cover archive run by the owner of Jive Time Records in Seattle. It’s called Project Thirty Three.

Here are some of my favorites:


About sara

Sara Bassick is a graphic designer living in Chicago. She likes printmaking, reading, typography, clocks, collaborating, being silly, dogs and pizza.
This entry was posted in repetition and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to repeat and fade

  1. abby says:

    Love these…this reminds me of our living room decorations in Worcester!

  2. sara says:

    Also, if you’re a fan of Blue Note covers, click here: http://www.birkajazz.com/archive/blueNote1500.htm.

Leave a Reply

