what’s worth repeating?

I’ve been thinking a lot about what my “repetition” project is going to be. I have not landed on one final idea yet, but I do have many possibilities vying for my commitment.

Since this theme has been on the brain so much, I am beginning to notice that, in everyday life, there are more repetitions than one might think. Wallpaper patterns are of course repetitions of one individual pattern spread over a large surface area. So are fabric patterns. My window blinds are constructed of the same sized slats of bamboo woven together to form an object. I get up in the morning and brush my teeth. I repeat that action every day. Spring comes after winter comes after fall comes after summer comes after spring…I’m starting to wonder if “repetition” is synonymous with “life”? Maybe not, but it certainly is with “pattern” and “cycle”.

What I’m getting at is that the interpretation of “repetition” is very broad, indeed. I have many ideas, but which one will make sense here? How can I show you what I’m thinking?

(old layers of wallpaper from our family's beach house renovation)

About abbyrose

Abby is a creative director/graphic designer living in NH who's greatest loves in life include photography, traveling, food, family & friends and laughing (usually while with family and friends over food while traveling and taking photos).
This entry was posted in repetition and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to what’s worth repeating?

  1. Trinity says:

    Abs, I love this photo. LOVE it.

    Also, I totally agree with you that repetition/pattern/cycle is omnipotent in our lives and in the world. It is everywhere and the older I get (the more cycles I have experienced), the more noticeable it becomes to me.

    I look forward to seeing what you and Sara come up with this month.

Leave a Reply

