winter wrap-up

Ah, so fitting that my final post for the “winter” theme comes (a day late) on a very snowy and gray winter’s day. There is hope though: the groundhog didn’t see his shadow! Looking outside, you wonder how that’s possible….

As January ends and February begins, it’s hard not to get discouraged. That initial blast of self-motivation to bust through the winter has subsided. Instead of sitting at home on this treacherous driving day looking around me at all the projects I need/want to tackle, I’m looking at the couch and my gramma’s handmade quilt instead. I’m even eying the remote! (I pretty much reserve t.v. watching to weeknights after dinner…we are a teeny bit obsessed with This Old House or any other home improvement show. I have an amazing dream house built in my brain!) Laziness! The urge to hibernate! It’s not bad to have a lazy day here and there, but for me it can so easily turn into my reality. I have to be diligent!

So I’ll start to re-energize by bringing you my “winter” project. I had initially decided to focus on creating order out of the chaos of wintertime. (See my first post here.) What I made is pretty simple and basic, really, but also grand in that it does create a sort of order, a pattern. One thing done after another, turning limp and lifeless materials into a form that is useful, comforting and even pretty. My project makes me happy for the reasons that I was able to make this transformation happen, and also because the end result will make my winter all the more tolerable.

Here is what I made (thanks to Lori for the modeling!):

Yup, I knit a pair of arm warmers. I’m always cold in winter. Short of spending a fortune heating my house or office, there’s not a lot I can do about it. So I battle the chill by wearing lots of layers. For those of you who know me personally, I’m rarely without a scarf, even in warmer months (hate it when I’m somewhere and the A/C is blowing on my neck!). I especially have the issue of my hands getting cold when I work on the computer at work. I am a knitter, and I’ve long considered making a pair of these mitts for myself but never got around to it…go figure. So when Sara and I decided that our theme was “winter” I knew exactly what to do.

For me, these mitts embody our winter theme and my personal goal of orchestrating some order from this mess of a season in a few ways. One is that knitting, like any other art form, requires one to take something seemingly unimportant on its own (in this case yarn) and by process of imagining coupled with physically “doing” it becomes an object of practicality (or art, or comfort, or….). Another reason is very basic: I am cold. They make me warm. Chaos avoided. Knitting also is very calming and meditative for me. I like that at the end of a long day sitting at a computer I can curl up with gramma’s quilt and knitting in hand and create something that doesn’t require pixels. One of the downfalls of being a designer for a living is that on my off time the last place I want to be is at a computer!

So there you have it. Winter project done. Next up: February! We’ll post the new theme soon.

About abbyrose

Abby is a creative director/graphic designer living in NH who's greatest loves in life include photography, traveling, food, family & friends and laughing (usually while with family and friends over food while traveling and taking photos).
This entry was posted in winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to winter wrap-up

  1. sara says:

    Whoa, awesome! Can you make me a pair? (:

  2. Kali says:

    They look terrific! (and warm!)

  3. teeplefurniture says:

    Well done ladies. Interesting topics from both of you. They seem to be complimenting each other well.
    Sara,
    Love your winter prints. Would love to see them grouped large on a wall.

  4. RobinH says:

    Ooh, pretty! They look nice and toasty, too. I need to knit myself mitts.

  5. Trinity says:

    Hey! You are blogging! You are knitting! Awesome. I can totally relate to your explanation of knitting as creating order. Those stitches all lined up just where they belong in tidy little rows and perfect little patterns are so, so, so pleasing.
    I look forward to following your work and Sara’s work here.

Leave a Reply

