hello, winter

For me, winter means many things. It’s by far my least favorite season due to it’s coldness and length, which in New England can be severe. But I’ve found over the years that the things I most dislike about winter are also the things I like best. I, like Sara, tend to become a homebody, which can be lonely and depressing, dark and cold. On the one hand, this is quite negative: it’s a drain on happiness and creativity. But on the other hand, when I remember to focus properly, it’s an opportunity for me to spend time working on things I pass over for out-of-home adventures during the warmer months.

This blog, for example. And home projects (my husband and I own a fixer-upper). And making things. Cooking warm foods. Doing yoga. Appreciating the beauty of the fresh snow with a warm cup of tea in my hand. Really, winter isn’t so bad sometimes. I guess it’s what I make of it.

Considering all these seemingly conflicting meanings that winter holds for me, I’ve decided to focus on the idea of creating harmony out of what can be a chaotic time of year.

About abbyrose

Abby is a creative director/graphic designer living in NH who's greatest loves in life include photography, traveling, food, family & friends and laughing (usually while with family and friends over food while traveling and taking photos).
This entry was posted in winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

